Skip to content

Biro d’Or 2018

At the end of last season, we ran the inaugural Biro d’Or competition to celebrate football writing in an English-language context. After tens of thousands of votes were cast in a World Cup-style competition, the New York Times’ Rory Smith ended up as the winner of the competition, receiving his own golden pen from us.

Given the popularity of the event, we have decided to re-run the competition again this season. As we are introducing a nomination period into this year’s competition, the competition is live as of today. See below for details on how to submit your nominations.

Whilst this competition is certainly tongue in cheek, there is a serious element to it. Football writing is something that should be celebrated as a thing which brings enjoyment to a lot of people. This tournament hopes to showcase how much talent there is out there and should encourage each and every one of us of the importance that good writing has in our lives.

To this end, once this competition finishes, we will be running the parallel competition to the Biro d’Or which celebrates female/non-binary/trans football writers and writers from a BME background.

Nomination stage:

Last season, we were criticised for not opening up the nominations to the public. As a result, we’re running a nominations stage over the course of a month whereby you can nominate up to ten football writers.

If you want to do so, there is a Google Form here where you can submit your nominations:

After the month is closed, these will then be aggregated into a shortlist of 64 writers who will go into the group stages which will be conducted by a Twitter vote.

Where from here?

From there we go into the knock-out stages. The voting for each stage will run for 2 days. The format for these will be as follows:

Last 16:

Match 1: Winner of A vs Runner up of B

Match 2: Winner of B vs Runner up of A

Match 3: Winner of C vs Runner up of D

Match 4: Winner of D vs Runner up of C

Match 5: Winner of E vs Runner up of F

Match 6: Winner of F vs Runner up of E

Match 7: Winner of G vs Runner up of H

Match 8: Winner of H vs Runner up of G

Quarter Finals:

QF1: Winner of Match 1 vs Winner of Match 2

QF2: Winner of Match 3 vs Winner of Match 4

QF3: Winner of Match 5 vs Winner of Match 6

QF4: Winner of Match 7 vs Winner of Match 8

Semi Finals:

SF1: Winner of QF1 vs Winner of QF2

SF2: Winner of QF3 vs Winner of QF4


Winner of SF1 vs Winner of SF2

%d bloggers like this: